I Am Grateful

My church has sermon series that generally last 3 to 6 weeks. We are currently on one entitled Stay Positive. And under that main heading each week has a smaller theme title that still relates to the overall theme. This past week was our 2nd week in this series and it was titled “I’m Grateful”! I loved this sermon. I am one who loves to be grateful and wants to always show gratitude for everything, however, I am a work in progress when it comes to actually showing that gratitude. I know I have done other blog posts on this and listed out specific things I am grateful for, but this time I am taking a bit different of an approach.

Our minster, Dan,  spoke about having an attitude of gratitude for everyday things and making sure you’re showing God that gratitude. He used the example of you’re sitting there praying for a good grade on a test then you get that “A” and then are boasting that you got the good grade, but not thanking God for it, when He is the one who helped you get it.

Dan posed this question to start things off: Do we have everything we need to live a Godly life? The answer is YES! But sometimes we think that means things and abilities. But as long as we have a relationship with our Father then we can live the most grateful life of all.

In order to have an attitude of gratitude, Dan mentioned that there are 4 truths that we must all face. If we find any of these to be difficult or hard to manage, then we know that’s where we need to put our focus.

I will list them out as they were presented to us:

  1. I am a sinner and don’t deserve God’s blessings. (further reflection in Romans 3:23 & Romans 6:23)
  2. I will not let envy corrupt my attitude of gratitude (further reflection in Ecclesiastes 4:4 & 1 Timothy 6:6-8, 17)
  3. Recognize that every good gift I get comes from God. (further reflection in James 1:7)
  4. I will choose to praise God for all of my blessings (further reflection in Psalm 13:6)

Now that these are outlined, you have a basis on which to base your gratitude. Practice these and continue to remember them and make them a part of your everyday prayers.

I know that I am still a work in progress. I battle back and forth with all of these. Which do you struggle with most? Which are the easiest for you?

Are you living your life with an attitude of gratitude? If not, let’s start NOW!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑